[
  {
    "date": "2023-07-13",
    "licensor": "The Associated Press",
    "licensee": "OpenAI",
    "dataType": "News text (part of AP's text archive)",
    "valueUsd": null,
    "valueText": "Undisclosed",
    "term": "Not disclosed",
    "exclusivity": "Not disclosed",
    "status": "Announced; end date not disclosed",
    "sourceName": "AP press release",
    "sourceUrl": "https://www.ap.org/media-center/press-releases/2023/ap-open-ai-agree-to-share-select-news-content-and-technology-in-new-collaboration/",
    "sourceDate": "2023-07-13",
    "notes": "OpenAI licenses part of the AP text archive; AP gets access to OpenAI technology and product expertise."
  },
  {
    "date": "2024-01",
    "licensor": "Reddit",
    "licensee": "Undisclosed (the filing names no licensees)",
    "dataType": "User posts and comments (platform data access)",
    "valueUsd": 203000000,
    "valueText": "$203.0M aggregate contract value across several arrangements",
    "term": "2 to 3 years",
    "exclusivity": "Not disclosed",
    "status": "Signed January 2024; renewals not disclosed",
    "sourceName": "Reddit, Inc. Form S-1 (SEC)",
    "sourceUrl": "https://www.sec.gov/Archives/edgar/data/1713445/000162828024006294/reddits-1q423.htm",
    "sourceDate": "2024-02-22",
    "notes": "Reddit's S-1 says it expected at least $66.4 million of this to be recognized as revenue in 2024 and the rest later."
  },
  {
    "date": "2024-02-22",
    "licensor": "Reddit",
    "licensee": "Google",
    "dataType": "User posts and comments via the Reddit Data API (real-time, structured)",
    "valueUsd": null,
    "valueText": "Undisclosed",
    "term": "Not disclosed",
    "exclusivity": "Not disclosed",
    "status": "Announced; end date not disclosed",
    "sourceName": "Google blog (The Keyword)",
    "sourceUrl": "https://blog.google/company-news/inside-google/company-announcements/expanded-reddit-partnership/",
    "sourceDate": "2024-02-22",
    "notes": "Google says the Data API access lets it \"display, train on, and otherwise use\" Reddit content; the same announcement adds a Vertex AI cloud partnership for Reddit. Reddit's S-1 (filed the same day) reports $203.0 million of data licensing contracts signed in January 2024 without naming licensees: https://www.sec.gov/Archives/edgar/data/1713445/000162828024006294/reddits-1q423.htm"
  },
  {
    "date": "2024-02-29",
    "licensor": "Stack Overflow",
    "licensee": "Google Cloud",
    "dataType": "Developer Q&A and code via OverflowAPI",
    "valueUsd": null,
    "valueText": "Undisclosed",
    "term": "Not disclosed",
    "exclusivity": "Not disclosed",
    "status": "Announced; end date not disclosed",
    "sourceName": "Google Cloud / Stack Overflow joint press release",
    "sourceUrl": "https://www.googlecloudpresscorner.com/2024-02-29-Stack-Overflow-and-Google-Cloud-Announce-Strategic-Partnership-to-Bring-Generative-AI-to-Millions-of-Developers",
    "sourceDate": "2024-02-29",
    "notes": "Gemini for Google Cloud surfaces Stack Overflow answers and code through OverflowAPI; Stack Overflow adopts Google Cloud AI in return."
  },
  {
    "date": "2024-04",
    "licensor": "John Wiley & Sons",
    "licensee": "Undisclosed large tech company",
    "dataType": "Learning content (previously published)",
    "valueUsd": 23000000,
    "valueText": "$23M realized in Q4 fiscal 2024",
    "term": "Limited duration (length not disclosed)",
    "exclusivity": "Not disclosed",
    "status": "Completed; revenue realized in fiscal 2024",
    "sourceName": "Wiley Q4 FY2024 earnings presentation (SEC 8-K, Ex. 99.2)",
    "sourceUrl": "https://www.sec.gov/Archives/edgar/data/107140/000010714024000104/exhibit992-q424earningsp.htm",
    "sourceDate": "2024-06-13",
    "notes": "Wiley describes its GenAI content rights projects as covering previously published content with \"limited duration and narrow use\". Quarter ended 2024-04-30."
  },
  {
    "date": "2024-04-29",
    "licensor": "Financial Times",
    "licensee": "OpenAI",
    "dataType": "News journalism (attributed summaries, quotes and links; model improvement)",
    "valueUsd": null,
    "valueText": "Undisclosed",
    "term": "Not disclosed",
    "exclusivity": "Not disclosed",
    "status": "Announced; end date not disclosed",
    "sourceName": "FT press release",
    "sourceUrl": "https://aboutus.ft.com/press_release/openai",
    "sourceDate": "2024-04-29",
    "notes": "Described by the FT as a strategic partnership and licensing agreement; the FT also bought ChatGPT Enterprise for all employees."
  },
  {
    "date": "2024-05-06",
    "licensor": "Stack Overflow",
    "licensee": "OpenAI",
    "dataType": "Developer Q&A and code via OverflowAPI",
    "valueUsd": null,
    "valueText": "Undisclosed",
    "term": "Not disclosed",
    "exclusivity": "Not disclosed",
    "status": "Announced; end date not disclosed",
    "sourceName": "Stack Overflow press release",
    "sourceUrl": "https://stackoverflow.co/company/press/archive/openai-partnership",
    "sourceDate": "2024-05-06",
    "notes": "OpenAI uses OverflowAPI to improve model performance for developers and shows attributed Stack Overflow content in ChatGPT."
  },
  {
    "date": "2024-05-07",
    "licensor": "Dotdash Meredith (now People Inc.)",
    "licensee": "OpenAI",
    "dataType": "Publisher articles (attributed in ChatGPT; used to improve OpenAI models)",
    "valueUsd": null,
    "valueText": "Undisclosed",
    "term": "Not disclosed",
    "exclusivity": "Not disclosed",
    "status": "Active: IAC's FY2025 10-K reports a full year of OpenAI revenue in 2025",
    "sourceName": "IAC Q1 2024 results (SEC 8-K, Ex. 99.1)",
    "sourceUrl": "https://www.sec.gov/Archives/edgar/data/1800227/000180022724000022/ex_991q12024iac-pressrelea.htm",
    "sourceDate": "2024-05-07",
    "notes": "Includes a partnership on the D/Cipher ad-targeting product. Status per IAC's 10-K for 2025, which calls it \"a partnership which began in May 2024\": https://www.sec.gov/Archives/edgar/data/1800227/000162828026009997/iaci-20251231.htm"
  },
  {
    "date": "2024-05-16",
    "licensor": "Reddit",
    "licensee": "OpenAI",
    "dataType": "User posts and comments via the Reddit Data API (real-time, structured)",
    "valueUsd": null,
    "valueText": "Undisclosed",
    "term": "Not disclosed",
    "exclusivity": "Not disclosed",
    "status": "Announced; end date not disclosed",
    "sourceName": "Reddit announcement",
    "sourceUrl": "https://redditinc.com/news/reddit-and-oai-partner",
    "sourceDate": "2024-05-16",
    "notes": "OpenAI brings Reddit content into ChatGPT and new products; Reddit builds on OpenAI models and OpenAI becomes a Reddit advertising partner."
  },
  {
    "date": "2024-05-22",
    "licensor": "News Corp",
    "licensee": "OpenAI",
    "dataType": "Current and archived news content (WSJ, Barron's, MarketWatch, New York Post, The Times, The Sun, The Australian and others)",
    "valueUsd": null,
    "valueText": "Undisclosed",
    "term": "Multi-year (length not disclosed)",
    "exclusivity": "Not disclosed",
    "status": "Announced; end date not disclosed",
    "sourceName": "News Corp press release",
    "sourceUrl": "https://newscorp.com/2024/05/22/news-corp-and-openai-sign-landmark-multi-year-global-partnership/",
    "sourceDate": "2024-05-22",
    "notes": "OpenAI may display content from News Corp mastheads in answers and use it to enhance its products; content from News Corp's other businesses is excluded."
  },
  {
    "date": "2024-06",
    "licensor": "John Wiley & Sons",
    "licensee": "Undisclosed second large tech company",
    "dataType": "Learning and research content",
    "valueUsd": 21000000,
    "valueText": "$21M project value; $17M realized in Q1 fiscal 2025",
    "term": "Limited duration (length not disclosed)",
    "exclusivity": "Not disclosed",
    "status": "Completed; revenue realized in fiscal 2025",
    "sourceName": "Wiley Q1 FY2025 earnings presentation (SEC 8-K)",
    "sourceUrl": "https://www.sec.gov/Archives/edgar/data/107140/000010714024000186/q125earningspresentation.htm",
    "sourceDate": "2024-09-05",
    "notes": "First disclosed as executed in Wiley's June 2024 earnings review, which describes both GenAI content rights projects as having \"limited duration and narrow use\": https://www.sec.gov/Archives/edgar/data/107140/000010714024000104/exhibit992-q424earningsp.htm"
  },
  {
    "date": "2025-02-14",
    "licensor": "Guardian Media Group",
    "licensee": "OpenAI",
    "dataType": "News reporting and archive journalism (attributed summaries and extracts in ChatGPT)",
    "valueUsd": null,
    "valueText": "Undisclosed",
    "term": "Not disclosed",
    "exclusivity": "Not disclosed",
    "status": "Announced; end date not disclosed",
    "sourceName": "Guardian press release",
    "sourceUrl": "https://www.theguardian.com/gnm-press-office/2025/feb/14/guardian-media-group-announces-strategic-partnership-with-openai",
    "sourceDate": "2025-02-14",
    "notes": "The Guardian also rolls out ChatGPT Enterprise internally."
  },
  {
    "date": "2025-04",
    "licensor": "John Wiley & Sons",
    "licensee": "Undisclosed third large tech company",
    "dataType": "Published content (AI content licensing project)",
    "valueUsd": null,
    "valueText": "Undisclosed for this deal; Wiley's AI licensing revenue was $40M in fiscal 2025 vs $23M in fiscal 2024",
    "term": "Not disclosed",
    "exclusivity": "Not disclosed",
    "status": "Executed in Q4 fiscal 2025",
    "sourceName": "Wiley FY2025 results (SEC 8-K, Ex. 99.1)",
    "sourceUrl": "https://www.sec.gov/Archives/edgar/data/107140/000010714025000071/wly-2025430xex991.htm",
    "sourceDate": "2025-06-17",
    "notes": "Executed in the quarter ended 2025-04-30."
  },
  {
    "date": "2025-11-03",
    "licensor": "People Inc. (formerly Dotdash Meredith)",
    "licensee": "Microsoft",
    "dataType": "Publisher content for Microsoft's Publisher Content Marketplace (Copilot is the first buyer)",
    "valueUsd": null,
    "valueText": "Undisclosed",
    "term": "Not disclosed",
    "exclusivity": "Not disclosed",
    "status": "Signed (disclosed November 2025)",
    "sourceName": "IAC Q3 2025 results (SEC 8-K, Ex. 99.1)",
    "sourceUrl": "https://www.sec.gov/Archives/edgar/data/1800227/000162828025048237/ex_991q32025iac-pressrelea.htm",
    "sourceDate": "2025-11-03",
    "notes": "People Inc. is one of a select group of publishers building the marketplace, which is meant to pay publishers when AI products use their content."
  }
]
